Marvel Comic Cake

I was asked to make a Marvel Comic cake for a young man who turned 12.

I started with a Spiderman cake board made with black and red fondant.

IMG_00000656

I used a 8″ round with three layers, I covered the cake with white fondant to start. I covered the top portion with yellow and blue fondant to represent Wolverine.

IMG_00000657

For Captain America I decided to add his shield to the bottom border.

IMG_00000660

I then made Thor’s hammer and Hulk’s hand out of Rice Krispies covered with fondant. I spray painted the hammer with silver cake spray.

IMG_00000661

For Wolverine’s claws I used fondant and gumpaste, because I didn’t have a lot of time for them to completely dry I had to insert half of a bamboo skewer in each claw so that it would stand upright on the cake.

Here is the finished product…I added a red cape to represent Captain America.

Marvel cake Marvel cake2

Leave a Reply

