iPhone Cake

I usually make cupcakes on Friday but this Friday is different, it’s my nephew’s 15th birthday. I wanted to do something extra special for him, he wanted an iPhone but I just couldn’t justify spending that kind of money on a phone for a 15-year-old. So, I did the next best thing…I made him an iPhone cake!

IMG_3845

This was my first time attempting to make a iPhone cake. It was certainly a learning process and time consuming. I don’t think I’ll be doing another one of these in the near future.

I started out making the apps two days before the cake was assembled. They took me about 7 – 9 hours to complete all of them, they were really time consuming because they required so much detail. I allowed them to dry overnight because I didn’t want them to smudge in the process of putting them on the cake.

IMG_3832

 

I used a 9×13 rounded edge cake pan, it was the perfect shape and size for the cake. The cake itself was lemon with lemon curd filling, that’s what my nephew requested.

I covered the cake with white fondant.

IMG_3837

Then went ahead and cleaned up the edges and tucking in the excess fondant.

IMG_3839

I then measured the “background” of the phone to cover where the apps would be placed, mine measured 7 1/2 inches in width and 8 inches in length. I also cut the black strip at the top of the screen at this point, for that I measured 3/4 inch and wide enough for the width of the ‘screen”.

IMG_3844

 

Then came the fun part…placing all the apps on…I just used water to stick the apps on the screen.

IMG_3845

 

Once the apps were on, I used a piping tip to cut out the circle at the bottom, it was the perfect size and worked out great. I then went ahead and added some detail such as time, signal strength and battery life at the top.

I added the birthday message using fondant cut outs.

IMG_3851IMG_3848

 

Overall, it turned out well for my first attempt at the iPhone cake, I learned so much from this process…the most important being giving myself lots and LOTS of time when doing a cake like this.

The look on my nephew’s face was absolutely PRICELESS…it was totally work the last two days of sleep deprivation. He didn’t want to cut the cake…which I kind of appreciated. After days and hours of hard work it’s nice to see other people really appreciate it!

IMG-20130517-02276 IMG-20130517-02278

 

Happy Birthday Lamar!

2 thoughts on “iPhone Cake

    • Hi, thanks so much…it took a long time but was worth the expression on my nephew’s face! I didn’t get to use my pasta machine this time, the pieces of fondant were small enough to just use the small fondant roller. For the apps, I made a template and traced and cut them individually. Looking back on the cake now, there are changes I would make, one being making the apps a little bit smaller and starting earlier to add a few extra details. I worked up until the final hour on this cake!

Leave a Reply

